Skip to Content

Academic Calendar Year

At The University of Alabama, the Academic Year is composed of three semesters. Summer semester is the first, fall semester is the second and spring semester is the final term of the academic year.   

Summer semester is broken down into three sessions: Interim, Summer I and Summer II, in addition to the full term. Fall semester is composed of the full term plus an abbreviated term called Fall II. Spring semester also consists of Winter Interim, a short session between the end of the fall and the beginning of the spring semesters that supports travel and online courses only. Winter Interim is followed by the full spring semester plus an abbreviated term called Spring II.

For a list of all parts of term and important dates, please visit